Posted Up Early (Regathering)

It’s Monday, December 21st, 2020 @ 11:21 AM. The numbers seem to line up, yet how can we be sure to not treat people like numbers?

How often do you find yourself gathering and regathering your hopes and dreams? How often do you find yourself just gathering your bare components and striving to be okay? For me, it’s sometimes trying to get back on the horse or the wagon, yet where are we taking the cargo in the carriage? If we’re going to haul a payload across the lands, do we have a clear destination?

I’ve often written or talked about how I want freedom. The concept of a Freedom Solution holds as a capitalized term and looks like a marketing gimmick. It’s doing what we want to do, when we want to do it, with whom we want to do so, and where, with full financial support. Our Freedom Solution, though requires active participation, some hope, some faith, and presumably a lot of work and luck.

In the past two weeks, I’ve shifted into not landscaping for a paycheque. Though the company is off for the winter, I’m not returning back to rummaging in gardens, mowing lawns, or cleaning up debris. I wanted to reclaim my time at home (including my nights), yet there are other challenges about not being out in the field. Having freedom of time is something to manage, and it comes with challenges and responsibility.

Being alone, at home, is a blessing, yet it holds within it the chains of solitude. When I wrote this post, I was a smoker, and the cigarettes and coffee were vices clamped firm on my lungs and daily activity. It didn’t feel right, and neither did having fully open days left to my own devices. Truly, my devices (my computer, phone, and coffee pot) were not gratifying for my social and emotional desires to connect and communicate.

I often stay out of politics and religious discussions, and I routinely avoid talking about hot topics and current events. We know 2020 and the pandemic have been a central part of the year, though adapting and shifting to stay within bounds seemed to be a natural course of events. There have been restrictions on our freedoms, though I joked about how I was social distancing and isolating before it was cool. I’m tired of being alone, though.

You see these words, presumably on a computer, tablet, or phone, yet who can you reach out to for a real conversation? It’d be fantastic for more of us to call and connect with people, and there’s a vast world of people who are stuck to their devices scrolling and reading. What I recommend is to reach out and have a conversation with someone instead of going alone.

I don’t know who you can call, though , yet I bet there are a few people you like and appreciate that you’ve not spoken with recently. Pick up the phone and call them! Or, if this is after we’re all allowed to connect in person (that you read this a couple of months later), visit or invite a friend over and have some food or a beverage together.

If you’re fixated on your screen, take a break. Reach out for real connections, not the digital companions (your phone or computer). Technology is best to connect people whom may reciprocate love and care, though if alone and you don’t have another to hug, give yourself one! You’re worth it!

If we’re not okay, we must do something about it if we want to be okay. We may not know how to straighten ourselves out, yet in those cases, try to think of who you want to talk or hear from and reach out. Pets are fantastic, though seek out and find genuine human connection. I’m pretty sure it’ll be great for your spirit and soul!

Wishing you love and luck!

Rob

Please let us know what you think!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.