Trust Issues

My psychiatric diagnosis is paranoid/delusional, yet what if the fears I hold are real? What if, at times, people are plotting and planning? I can’t prove some of my concerns, yet in some cases, being cautious may be a natural and logical decision.

I’ve had trust issues with people a lot through the years, and it comes from getting betrayed a few times in the past. I’ve openly trusted people that were not safe, and I’ve made poor decisions and judgment calls on people neglecting their true intentions.

Though, we can live as an inverse paranoid and believe people and the world are plotting for us in line with our best interests. If we feel the fear, it could be a fear of the unknown, yet if we anticipate and expect great things to happen to us, will that invite fantastic stuff for ourselves?

The law of attraction would say that we need to adjust our attitudes and reframe fears. From a Jack Canfield theory and exercise, we should consider fears on three questioning and process levels.

First what one is afraid of: I’m afraid to _____________________________.

Then shift the statement: I want to ___________________________, and I scare myself by imagining _________________________.

Then write the opposite image- I want to _______________________________ – My opposite, positive image of the desired outcome is ____________________________________________________________________________.

For me, I am afraid to market and sell 1,000,000 books.

I want to market and sell 1,000,000 books, and I scare myself by imagining that I’ll become super-famous because of it.

I want to market and sell 1,000,000 books. My opposite, positive image of the desired outcome is that I’ll have financial freedom, and the ideas my readers see can benefit the world if they reach a mass audience.

I am scared about selling a million, and I also realize that as people come to buy, read, and share my books, I’ll be able to build a new home, live luxuriously with the love of my life, and to sell a million books, it can assist the charities and causes I give to from my books sales.

I did this exercise earlier in the day, and I reframed a relationship fear too. I see that if I get past my fear in that area, I’ll be happy, glad, and thankful to live with my future wife. I just need to let her know that I love her and that I want to live with her.

What are you afraid of, though? Can you think of how you scare yourself by imagining a negative outcome? Can you think of other potential consequences and become hopeful you can do what you’re afraid of? If you can feel the fear and do it anyway, how will your life be different?

If you don’t know, think about it. You may find some of what your afraid of could be a magnificent opportunity!

Love and luck!

Rob

3 thoughts on “Trust Issues

Please let us know what you think!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.